top of page

Struggling for dissertation ideas?

It's now fast approaching the end of the academic year, and I'm sure many of you just want to go home and enjoy the holidays right? Yes, of course, you do!

Although there will be time to enjoy yourselves over the summer period, it is important to start thinking, if you haven't already about your dissertation.

I know when In my second year I spent most of my summer researching and planning mine and found it very beneficial because I didn't want to start doing something that was unworkable as a topic.

Unluckily for me, the topics that I presented to my supervisor were rejected. (I liked to pick difficult topics...) The outcome of this was good because it allowed me to spend a little more time figuring out exactly what I wanted to do! In the end, however, I still ended up picking a ridiculously hard topic! I got through it though, and if anything your dissertation is about challenging yourself, and learning and expanding your knowledge; even if it's a topic you're not familiar with! Have fun with it!

Anyway, if you are still struggling and panicking about your topic, or fancy trying something a bit different, have a think about signing up to NUS Dissertations for Good! What is this I hear you say? 'Dissertations for Good connects students with organisations to complete research projects together into social, economic and environmental sustainability. A dissertation for good is any piece of student work that contributes in a tangible way, by producing a report that is useful for their partnered organisation.'

In a nutshell, Dissertations for Good allows you to complete a research piece with a national organisation.

You and the organisation will work together to create an amazing piece of work! It will be unique, and nobody else would have ever untaken a research project like it! How great would that look on your CV and as a part of your degree? AMAZING!

The university currently has a membership with Dissertations for Good, and only a handful of people are using it! Snap it up whilst we have it and have a look at what kind of projects are on offer. No matter what course that you're doing, you should be able to find a topic that will suit you.

Dissertations for Good currently has a broad range of topics available from organisations such as the National Trust, NUS, the Woodland Trust, and much more. If something isn't on offer that is relevant or interests you at the moment, sign up and fill in your profile. An organisation may be looking for someone like you! Take a look, and you never know you might find your ideal dissertation topic today! http://dissertationsforgood.org.uk

If you or your supervisor has any questions about Dissertations for Good, email me on su_environment@winchester.ac.uk


bottom of page